Features, Health and Safety, Law and Politics, Municipal Government, New York, Transportation

NYC Ferry System Expands

January 16, 2019

By Neal Tepel

NEW YORK, NY — The NYC ferry system continues to expand and now provides services in all five boroughs.

Two new routes that will run from Staten Island and Coney Island have been added. Routes have been modified to include stops in the Bronx and Brooklyn. A new ferry stop in the Throggs Neck/Ferry Point Park section of the Bronx will join the Soundview route. A stop at the Brooklyn Navy Yard will be added to the Astoria Route.

“It’s official. The NYC Ferry will now serve all five boroughs!” said Mayor de Blasio. “We’re delivering new routes to Staten Island, Coney Island, and new stops in the Bronx and Brooklyn. As New Yorkers take to the water to get around our city more than ever before, we will look forward to improving the NYC Ferry system to make it better than ever.”

In the summers of 2017 and 2018, NYCEDC launched the East River, Rockaway, South Brooklyn, Astoria, Lower East Side and Soundview routes. With 21 landings across the City, NYC Ferry has served nearly eight million riders to date. With the addition of the St. George and Coney Island routes, and the Throgs Neck/Ferry Point Park and Brooklyn Navy Yard’s landings, revised annual ridership forecasts project the system will reach 11 million annual riders by 2023.

“In less than two years, NYC Ferry has become one of the most reliable, affordable, and beloved transit systems in the city,” said James Patchett, New York City Economic Development President and CEO. “Expansion of the system means getting even more New Yorkers where they need to go, increasing access to good-paying jobs, schools, and other neighborhoods, all for the price of a subway ride. We are proud to have delivered an invaluable asset to the city that makes all five boroughs fairer and stronger.”

January 16, 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.