ILA Scholarship Winners

July 5, 2017

By Tara Jessup

July 5, 2017 
By Stephanie West

New York, NY –  The International Longshoremen’s Association and New York Shipping Association, Inc. have announced the eight winners of the 2017 Teddy Gleason Scholarships.

The two trustees of the Scholarship Program, Stephen Knott, Secretary-Treasurer of the ILA, filling in for ILA President, Harold Daggett and NYSA President John Nardi, introduced the students at a luncheon on June 28, 2017 at Bobby Van’s Steak House in Lower Manhattan.

All eight students are dependents of ILA members working for NYSA member companies in the Greater Metropolitan area.  The NYSA-ILA Scholarship Fund, named in honor of the late ILA president Teddy Gleason, is open to dependents of active and retired ILA members in the Port of New York and New Jersey.  This is the thirty-seventh annual scholarship program.  Students will receive an annual grant of $6,000 per year for each one of four years in college.

The Teddy Gleason Scholarship winners are selected on the basis of academic performance and aptitude testing among other determinations.  The scholarships are available to qualified applicants who wish to continue education at undergraduate, apprentice or training programs at any accredited colleges, universities and other institutions of higher learning.  An independent agency – the College Scholarship Service based in Princeton, New Jersey – makes the selection of the scholarship winners.

The eight Teddy Gleason Scholarship winners join 32 other students currently enrolled in colleges and universities who were previously awarded these generous grants.  The scholarship program was introduced in 1981 following collective bargaining between the ILA and employers represented by NYSA and it provides $192,000 in yearly assistance for 32 students


July 5, 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.