Municipal Government

AFGE President J. David Cox Re-elected

August 24, 2015
By John Quinn, DC Bureau

J. David Cox Sr.

Washington DC  – AFGE Delegates attending the American Federation of Government Employees' 40th National Convention have re-elected the union's top three national officers. AFGE National President J. David Cox Sr., National Secretary-Treasurer Eugene Hudson Jr., and National Vice President for Women and Fair Practices Augusta Y. Thomas all were returned to office for another three-year term. Cox and Hudson were first elected in 2012, while Thomas was first elected in 2009.

"I am honored and humbled by the faith AFGE members have placed in me to continue the work I began three years ago, leading the nation's largest union for federal and D.C. government employees," Cox said. "Our membership has grown year over year for the past 24 years, and we are going to keep growing so we are big enough and strong enough to build the future that our dedicated members deserve."

More than 1,500 delegates attended the August convention. Cox won the top office with 63 percent of the votes. In the race for National Secretary-Treasurer, Eugene Hudson ran unopposed and was re-elected by acclamation. Augusta Thomas was re-elected as National Vice President for Women and Fair Practices with 75 percent of the vote.

August 21, 2015

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.